2022 Footcandle Film Festival

2022 Award Winners

Congratulations to the winners of the 2022 Footcandle Film Festival!  The awards were announced at the Closing Ceremony and Dinner on Sunday, September 25th.

Best Youth International Short Film

My Brother is Deaf

Directed by Peter Hoffman Kimball (United States)

Audience Favorite Youth International Short Film

Inside the Wall

Directed by Alistair Kerr (United Kingdom)

Best Narrative Short Film


Directed by Susan Béjar (Spain)

Best Documentary Short Film


Directed by William Armstrong (Botswana)

Audience Favorite Short Film

The Panola Project

Directed by Rachael DeCruz (United States)

Best Narrative Feature Film

You Resemble Me

Directed by Dina Amer (United States)

Best Documentary Feature Film


Directed by Jeff Apache (United States)

Audience Favorite Feature Film

The Hoy Boys

Directed by David Simonds (United States)

Thank you to last year’s supporters!

This project was supported by the United Arts Council of Catawba County through the North Carolina Arts Council, with funding from the State of North Carolina and the National Endowment for the Arts, which believes that a great nation deserves great art.


John & Connie Bools


Lynn Carlton
Elizabeth and Cavelle Davolio
Michelle Elwanger
The Faltermayer Family
Sallie and Wallace Johnson
Kirby Kepford & Patricia Lee
Kent Kerley & Thom Hutchens
Cindy & Tom Lundy
Joy Mease
William Parrish


Harriet and John Bates
Mary & Rick Berry
Dana Biehler
Regina Bond & Sandra Barnes
Catawba Valley Insurance Agency
Linda & Sandy Guttler
Paul & Marie Martino
Annette McComb
Kit & Norman McDonald
Morganton Humanist Alliance
Janice Sakkal


Will & Kiran Harrill
Peg & Rich Hites
Laura Levinson
James Luehrs
Dale Menard
Laura & Paul Owens
Judith Tarlton


Troy & Kari Alley
Richard & Margie Dickey
Henrietta Ouzts
Martha Willis